Username Password
Bookmark and Share

Bart Jol

User: kristi
Date: 12/1/2008 8:57 am
Views: 6047
Rating: 11    Rate [

The Essentials

Name: Bart Jol
Username: BartJol
Age: 30
Profession/Employer: employee of ProcoliX B.V.
Place of Residence: Delft

WebGUI Related Questions

In what way(s) do you contribute to WebGUI or the WebGUI Community?
Upkeep of Dutch translation (and reporting i18n bugs), helping people on the forums and IRC, giving presentations at the WUC

When did you first hear of WebGUI?

How and when did you get involved in WebGUI?
In 2002, I couldn't afford a sailing vacation and ProcoliX offered to pay me if I would translate WebGUI to Dutch. Still not sure whether that deal was good...

Are you paid to work on WebGUI?

How much time do you spend on WebGUI?
Average around 20 hours per week, maybe slightly more

What do you think is still missing from WebGUI or the WebGUI Community?
Time zone elimination

What keeps you motivated to keep working on WebGUI?
I'm still learning and by that I can help more people. Of course the nice people helping me learn are great

What's WebGUI's killer feature and why?
The versioning system; although hard to understand for beginners, it gives you the opportunity to change a whole site in the wink of an eye without breaking the rest of the structure.

What's WebGUI's greatest weakness and why?
The threshold before you get familiar with the system

What makes you work on WebGUI over the competition?
To be fair, WebGUI is my first and only love (CMS-wise)

What's your most brilliant WebGUI hack?
Trying to program the core (in programming sense of the word “hacking”), but in the end I consider the upkeep of the Dutch translation the most appropriate answer to this question.

Have you attended the WebGUI User's Conference?
Yes, in 2007 and 2008 I attended and gave a presentation

Where do you keep your Gooey doll?
One on my TV and one on my anchor

Personal Questions

How would you describe yourself?
I'd rather not, it's like quantum mechanics, if you observe something you change it. And I'd like to stay the same.

Are you married, dating, or otherwise involved?
Nope, but Sarah seems to be determined to get me a girlfriend

Do you have any kids?

Do you have any pets?
Only Gooeys

If someone visits your area, what's something they must see or do?
Eat all Dutch specialty food like haring (herring) and cheese and get a tour by me

What do you hate?
People ignoring other people

What do you love?
Sailing, hanging out in the bar with friends

What's the last book you read?
I finished Oblomow and currently I'm (still) reading Zen and the Art of Motorcyle Maintenance

What's the last CD/MP3 you bought?
LPG, a Dutch band

What's the last movie you watched?
Entre les murs (between the walls), but mostly it will be Fear and loathing in Las Vegas

You're stuck on a train/plane for 6 hours and bored out of your mind, what do you do to amuse yourself?
Mostly looking out the window or read a book

Any last words?
Make beer, not war


© 2022 Plain Black Corporation | All Rights Reserved