plainblack.com
Username Password
search
Bookmark and Share
View All Tickets
Duplicated template  (#11473)
Issue

If you try to edit a default template, you'll get:

"You are attempting to edit a default template. Any changes you make to this template may be lost when you next upgrade WebGUI. To be safe, you should make a duplicate of this template.

Duplicate this template and edit."

However, having duplicated and updated the website, you'll get the same message again and a user doesn't know, waht to do.

(Happens in stable and beta)

Solution Summary
Comments
perlDreamer
0
3/15/2010 9:28 am
I can't duplicate this on 7.9.1.

I edited an Article, then clicked on the Display tab and hit the edit button next to the Article template.
In the article template, I selected Duplicate and edit.
I added a word to the template, and hit save.
It takes me back to the Article, which was automatically updated to use the new template.
Then I edited the new template again, and I did not see the default template warning.

I'll try 7.8.14 next.
martien
0
3/15/2010 9:56 am
[quote]
Then I edited the new template again, and I did not see the default template warning.
[/quote]

This done in 7.9.1, you must try that, after the next update (to 7.9.2)

To be clear::
I copied and edited e.g. in 7.8.13 and then updated the website.
As I wanted to edit this copied template (within 7.9.0) again, the text came again to the copied template.

I will report, what happens after a next update.
perlDreamer
0
3/15/2010 10:06 am
I see.  What you have described is a bug that was already reported, and fixed: #11459
martien
0
3/15/2010 11:13 am
In 11459 it says, fixed in 7.9.0, where I do have the bug.
I'll have a look on it in 7.9.1 and see what happens.
perlDreamer
0
3/15/2010 12:54 pm
Is this the site that you manually updated from 7.8.14 to 7.9.0, or another one?

I'll see if I can duplicate what you reported above.
martien
0
3/15/2010 1:25 pm
Yes, it was the 7.8.14 site.
I once did a manual update and once a wre-update.
I'm not sure, but I think, I'm working with the manual update now.
perlDreamer
0
3/15/2010 1:44 pm
I created a template in 7.8.13, upgraded to 7.9.0, and the isDefault flag was not set.

However, there was a bug in the 7.9.0 upgrade where it set the isDefault flag on every template.  But it was found and fixed before the actual release of 7.9.0.

Given that the site in question didn't go through the normal upgrade process to 7.9.0, I suggest that you look closely at the upgrade script and consider building a small utility script that runs the fixImportNodeSettings subroutine from the 7.8.13 to 7.9.0 upgrade script.
martien
0
3/15/2010 4:43 pm
That's it!
I runned only the fixImportNodeSettings (for one config).
Since it doesn't harm, it would be nice to redo this procedure
at 7.9.1 update.
(there may be some other users, who did the same as I did.)
perlDreamer
0
3/15/2010 4:51 pm
I don't think we're going to do that.  Running the upgrade out of sequence, as you've found out, is not a good method for upgrading the site.
martien
0
3/16/2010 3:27 am
The problem is/was, how a user (me) who wants to use the beta-tree should have known at time of 7.8.14-release not to do the update, since there was no beta-release at that time.
Details
Ticket Status Closed  
Rating0.0 
Submitted Bymartien 
Date Submitted2010-03-15 
Assigned To unassigned  
Date Assigned2019-05-20 
Assigned By 
Severity Minor (annoying, but not harmful)  
What's the bug in? WebGUI Beta  
WebGUI / WRE Version 7.9.0  
URLuse/bugs/tracker/11473
Keywords
Ticket History
3/16/2010
8:27 AM
Closed martien
3/15/2010
9:51 PM
Resolved perlDreamer
3/15/2010
9:43 PM
Pending martien
3/15/2010
6:44 PM
Feedback Requested perlDreamer
3/15/2010
4:13 PM
Pending martien
3/15/2010
3:06 PM
Resolved perlDreamer
3/15/2010
10:19 AM
Ticket created martien
© 2019 Plain Black Corporation | All Rights Reserved